.

Resident to Village: Why Waste Our Tax Money in Hiring a Consultant?

The Keep the Village Greens Committee Chairman wants answers as to whether a consultant to evaluate the Woodridge golf course's quality is really necessary.

Woodridge Patch accepts letters to the editor. The following was submitted by Woodridge resident Mike Huber.

If you're interesting in submitting a letter, e-mail Woodridge Patch Editor Sabrina Wu at sabrina@patch.com.

-------------

We’ve now had time to digest the PowerPoint presentation that was prepared and shown at the last Village of Woodridge Board meeting by Village Administrator Katy Rush despite not being on the pre-printed agenda. While we’re getting used to the Village’s tendency to act first and allow for public input later, we would like to address some of the things that were mentioned in that PowerPoint as well as the Village Greens Study Information Sheet (see link above) posted on the Village of Woodridge website the following day.

The phrase “cost reductions impact the quality of the course and cannot be maintained long term” caught our attention.

We would simply like someone at the Village of Woodridge tell us if this is a statement of fact or a statement of opinion? 

If it’s a statement of fact, then where did you get these facts?  The Village of Woodridge is adamant about hiring a consultant to present details on the 'long term viability' of the golf course.  If you already have the answers, Ms. Rush, then why waste our tax money in hiring a consultant?  If you're already knowledgeable enough about the business of golf courses to know that cost reduction can't be sustained, then why seek outside opinions? 

If, on the other hand, this is merely a statement of opinion, then by making that statement aren’t you guilty of prejudicing this entire process? Haven’t you already formed and made public your stance on this issue? By making the statement ‘cannot be maintained long term’, haven’t you already prejudiced the consultants results, the Board's thinking, and shaped the public discussion in the manner you see fit, that the course isn’t sustainable and redevelopment is the only option? 

So which is it Ms. Rush; when you state that “cost reductions impact the quality of the course and cannot be maintained long term”.  Is that based on fact or opinion?  

We're waiting for an answer.

—Michael Huber, Woodridge resident, Chairman, Keep the Village Green Committee

Adrian September 19, 2012 at 08:55 PM
This is good post and I am sure most of Village of Woodridge residence will agreed with you 100%. This Mayor is about to retire and most of board members follow mayor (don't know why). Definition of Consultant is just excuse and good way to get away with fool village residence. I think this is enough and don't know if village of woodridge staff is doing anything regarding this....
Doc September 20, 2012 at 04:13 AM
Most of the rest of Woodridge aren't aware yet that the Village is trying to redevelop 121 acres of open space without letting the public have a voice (at least not until after their consultant answers their questions in a way they see fit. Check the tapes of the last two Board meetings. When the public asked for an explanation of the Village's plan, they were simply told 'we're going to do this and you'll be asked for your opinion after'. What kind of governing is that? Act first, Ask later? Crap!!!
Frustrated September 20, 2012 at 04:22 AM
The Village Manager has sold the Board on the necessity of this consultant. Why didn't the Board have an opportunity to vote on this matter? Why is this at a staff level? Is it so their true motives aren't brought to the light? If you ask a Board member (who are good people), they all say the same thing..."we have a fiduciary responsibility". True, you do. You also have a responsibility to listen to your residents, and hundreds are talking and waiting for answers? The silence at Village Hall speaks volumes.
Frustrated September 20, 2012 at 04:30 AM
Was at the last Board meeting...that's exactly what happened. Until the last few years, the Village staff and Board were open and receptive. Since John Perry left, the whole tone and attitude of the Village has changed. Now things are done behind closed doors, rubber stamped, and then the public is 'invited' to comment. Look what they did with those homeowners around the Edward Don development...the bulldozers were on site and practically moving dirt days before the 'public comment and vote'. I hope the residents of Woodridge don't settle for this method of governing. We should all expect openness, honesty, and transparency from our elected officials...not this BS!
Totally Fed Up September 20, 2012 at 02:07 PM
THE MAYOR AND THE BOARD ARE CORRUPT AND GETTING KICKBACKS. THEY DISGUST ME. THEY RECEIVED ENOUGH $$ FROM THE EDWARD DON DEAL WITH GALLAGHER AND HENRY TO RETIRE WHILE SELLING THE RESIDENTS AND THE DOWN DOWN THE RIVER. I THINK AN INVESTIGATION IS IN ORDER.
Totally Fed Up September 20, 2012 at 02:42 PM
I hope kickbacks are not the case, Maybe it is just a cooincindence with the sudden retirements. But the timing would suggest a look at what really happened just to be sure nothing dishonest to the citizens took place
Frustrated September 20, 2012 at 04:48 PM
I don't believe kickbacks are the issue. The real problem is that the current staff of the Village of Woodridge has a desire to 'get things done' without public input into the process. They "invite" public input on the results of their actions, but the public should also have a say in the process that leads to those results. Government 101 - you work for the people...listen to them, let them know what you're thinking, listen to them again, form a plan with them, get their consensus, include their thoughts in the entire process from A to Z...etc. Until 4-5 years ago, the Village operated that way. Today, they feel emboldened, perhaps even entitled to act without asking those who voted them in. Today, they go from A to Z on their own and only then ask the public. The management of the Village has assumed the reigns with a lame duck mayor and the Board has grown apathetic towards getting involved in the management process and listening to their constituency. Did the Board of the Village publically vote on this RFP? Have they told the public what might be in the RFP, or are we going to find out AFTER it's sent out?
michael huber September 21, 2012 at 01:41 AM
I also attended the village Board meeting. The residents asked to be heard. The Village administrator said they had a plan and the residents would be asked their opinions latter after the Consultants final report.The plan needs to change, the Village Administrator needs to go.
R. Wojo September 21, 2012 at 12:16 PM
Another topic but... Was there a plan in place when trees were planted down the center of 75th street only to be torn out this summer with the widening of same street? Talk abut wasted tax dollars..... Stupid really.
William S. Dooley September 24, 2012 at 01:25 PM
it appears the village staff and elected officials are finally remembering they work for the people of the Village of Woodridge. Let's hope we can now all work together. Regards, Bill Dooley

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »